#SundaySharings: Tiffany Ho

13391647_10204811322042837_5193449584152399932_o

Tiffany Ho is another one of our UCSD Tzu Ching Alumni :). She finished her undergraduate career as a Human Biology major in 2016 and is currently working towards her Masters in Biology at UCSD. Tiffany was one of the two “Supreme Overlords” aka Co-President in the years 2015-2016 with Victoria Low.

Let’s hear what she has to say about her experience with UCSD Tzu Ching thus far :).

It’s crazy to think that four years of college past by just like that and now I am officially part of the alumni group. Even though some people may still ask if I am a freshman when they see me on campus, I have definitely grown and learned a lot during the past four years. Coming in as a freshman, I was very shy. With my parents and family an ocean away, I had no one to depend on and had to do everything by myself. It was at this point that I was determined to change and made a pact to myself that I would become a more confident person.

Tzu Ching has been a major part of my life at UCSD and has definitely contributed to the growth that I see in myself today. Since joining the club in freshmen year and attending my first fall orientation, I have stuck with this organization throughout my undergrad. This isn’t only because I enjoy hanging out with my friends (which is also true), but also because I enjoy doing the work that we do. My favorite event overall would be Everybody Reads. It was the first event I attended (besides orientation) and has remained the event that I regularly attend.

13227525_10154098662372092_1778800354795316301_o

Ms. Ho single-handedly managing a class of 8 kids back in the day.

It gives me great encouragement to see how far my kids have grown in the last four years. They started out as first graders barely knowing how to do basic arithmetic to being fifth graders this year doing fractions and multi digit multiplications. Even though this event requires the earliest meet up time (8am), I always manage to get out of bed because I know my students are waiting for me.

Having been part of the officer cabinet and on executive team my last year, I especially appreciated all the efforts that people put in to plan every event. Even though I learned that there are difficult times, the people that I worked with made these moments pass by with less stress. From speaking to strangers about what our organization is about to presenting at meetings, I feel that I have overcome some of my barriers. Even though I may not be the best speaker and still get nervous whenever I have to present, I learned through my experience as an officer of Tzu Ching that I am capable of doing so.

12711209_10153915920624104_6549917756145364693_oThere were way to many memories these four years to choose a particular favorite one. However, I would say that my senior year has to be the year that I will miss the most. Being co-president this past year was the highlight of my college career. I learned so much from being in this role and am very thankful that I had the opportunity. Besides the mental growth I had this past year, I also met and got to know many great friends through TC, which has enriched my senior year significantly. From the spontaneous meetings/gatherings at my apartment to the late night boba runs, all of these memories will forever be embedded within my heart.

— Tiffany Ho

If you want to read more, you can also find her #MeetTheOfficers sharing here.

Leave a Reply

