Meet the Officers: Yan Wu, Public Relations Team

12063808_437790303088637_2232212597638974801_n.jpgYan Wu

3rd year, Pharmacological Chemistry Major

Years involved in Tzu Chi(ng): 3

 

I am the public relation team lead of Tzu Ching this year.

Our work is mainly to promote and publicize Tzu Ching to broader group of people. Public relation team are in charge of creating event pages on Facebook for our volunteer events, planing for social events that create more bonding times with Tzu Ching peers, and also putting up and displaying the event flyers around campus.

As for Tzu Ching, I want to publicize our organization to more people and help members to find their sense of belonging in Tzu Ching family.

12322747_449030475297953_7472690071704753014_oI feel my passion for Tzu Ching is the most important motivation for me to apply as an officer. I really enjoy the happiness after volunteering, and I have enjoyed being part of Tzu Ching and ready to take more responsibility as an officer by helping others find their sense of belonging in Tzu Ching family.

I joined Tzu Ching because of the opportunities to volunteer. I really enjoy volunteering. A single person probably would not have enough strength to make a big change or impact. However, as a group, we become powerful.

12141130_435690276631973_9138756481067805929_oI got to know Tzu Ching because I was Victoria Low’s suite mate in my freshmen year. I guess my first impression of Tzu Ching would be watching Victoria braiding her hair in front of mirror with her TC uniform. The blue shirt and while pants left deep impressions on me. The cute double braid hairs also made me curious about this organization. At that time, I thought Tzu Ching must be a really well-disciplined organization because of the required hair style and uniform.

I stayed for Tzu Ching because of the lovely peer I got to know in Tzu Ching. They all have kind heart and are willing to help people in need. I feel thankful to get to know these people who not only love and care about others, but also cherish and protect the world they live in. I love the sense of belonging Tzu Ching gave me. The feeling of family is what I love most about Tzu Ching.

I love all aspects of Tzu Ching. But most of all, I love how people in Tzu Ching treat each other like family. It always makes me feels heart warming whenever I hang out with my Tzu Ching family.

12038152_432310403636627_7467715436427360790_nMy favorite event is my monthly volunteering at Carmel Mountain Rehab & Healthcare Facility. Basically, we always play charades, catch ball game, sing songs, perform sign language show, and bunch of other games with the residents there. I really enjoy this event because it is a really rewarding experience that not only benefit myself to be a careful and responsible individual but also make contribute to light up the seniors’ days. I remember once, when we were play the ball with seniors, one of the old ladies told me that she always looked forward to see us each month and were so happy to see the performance and games we have prepared for them. She said we lighted up their day with happiness and joys and our visit became a day she expected a lot. It is at that moment I realized that we are really doing something wonderful and amazing that can bring good changes to others. The small things we do are able to make change and bring happiness to these seniors, which made me feel it is really worthy to spend the time to give what we have and we can to them.

One thought on “Meet the Officers: Yan Wu, Public Relations Team

Leave a Reply

