Meet The Officers: Tony Lu, 3-in-1 Team

1397716_10203087516908786_2028741883067184244_oTony Lu

4th Year, Computer Engineering Major

Years involved with Tzu Chi(ng): 1 1/2

My position as an officer is being on the 3-in-1 team. I take pictures/videos at events and also help maintain anything web related.

There’s nothing specific that I have in mind about accomplishing this year. I want to help in any way I can, even if it’s not directly part of the 3-in-1 responsibilities.

I chose to become an officer because I was asked to. All jokes aside it was nice to know that I found a place where I felt like I belonged, where I felt like people wanted to interact with me not because they had to, but because they wanted to. To that end I became an officer to do whatever I could to give back to the people and org who welcomed me in the first place.

11270581_375087739358894_7875769099398263779_oI joined because I wanted to help others and because of the atmosphere mentioned earlier. The way things are handled is unique I think. There are many ways to help others, many of them do not involve any personal commitment or involvement. Again, TC doesn’t do this. At every event it truly feels like we’re involved and invested in it. Not because it’s what we have to do; not because it’s for a resume or application of some sort; it’s something we want to do.

The atmosphere and the people are my favorite aspects of Tzu Chi(ng). As already stated the atmosphere is very welcoming and warm as are the people in TC as well. The way we interact among ourselves and with others feels genuine, something I can’t say for other people/groups I’ve interacted with.

10668821_363508617183473_2547506487084747431_oMy favorite event is probably Everybody Reads. The reason for that is because it’s a regular event and because of what we do. I strongly believe in having a good education from the beginning and ER is one way I can help enact that belief. Seeing the group of students you’ve been working with for the last few weeks, months or even years, develop and grow is really heart-warming.

What is your favorite Jing Si Aphorism?

All of them. I don’t really have a favorite because they are all valuable lessons/messages that are applicable to your life in some way or another.

What was your first impression of Tzu Chi(ng) and why did you stay?

My first impression was that the people were very sincere and genuine. Lots of people say things but don’t really mean it or only interact with you on a superficial level. I felt none of that in TC. I chose to stay for that reason; a place where I’d always feel welcome.

11289362_375085789359089_6145455082066019151_o

One thought on “Meet The Officers: Tony Lu, 3-in-1 Team

Leave a Reply

