#UCSDTCCA Summer Journey – Bryan Yang

Meet our new transfer member, Bryan Yang ^_^ ! Former San Jose Community Tzu Ching Club President~

Yet again, we’re happy to welcome Bryan to our UCSD TC Family <3. This guy is a little camera shy and may look intimidating as he is 6′ 1″  BUT he’s full of compassion and always willing to give a helping hand :). So don’t be afraid to approach him and say hi!

This summer he’s staffed for TCSC (Tzu Chi Summer Camp 2015, a month long camp, 7/11-8/9, where students will learn to integrate the camp motto of “trust, cooperation, strategic planning, and communication” into their daily living while gaining valuable language and cultural exposures along the way), group leader for Houston TCCA Leadership Conference, and was a cook for TCYA Leadership Retreat.

Let’s see his sharing about his experience staffing for TCSC 😀 (available in Chinese as well).

Tzu Chi Summer Camp 2015

The 2015 Tzu Chi Summer Camp has finally drawn to a close. I can clearly remember how nervous and anxious I had felt on the first night, when the camp attendees started to arrive. How would I get to know these forty-three attendees? How can I guide them through this next month to ensure that they are happy in their time here? Then, the attendees walked in, and I see the apprehension on their faces as they took in the unfamiliar surroundings. At that moment, I was determined to help them feel at home here in the United States. In this past month, I devoted myself to the task of looking after the attendees, planning every aspect of their curriculum, and leading them from one destination to the next.

Tzu Ching Staff @ UC Berkeley From Left to Right: Katie Lin, Kathy Lam, Edith Chen, Bryan Yang

As this month flew by, I went from not knowing these students at all, to being able to identify each by only the sound of their voices. However, I still experienced many challenges in this short time. But, not only was I able to learn from my experiences, I was able to meet and work alongside three other camp leaders: Kathy, Edith, and Katie, and gained so much from our collaborative work. Before this camp, I was used to being the responsible one in a group who finishes projects for the entire group; but, at this camp, I was a part of a team that shared responsibilities. We each bring something different to the table, and from my fellow camp leaders, I was able to learn how people of different backgrounds can accommodate and mutually help one another to see a project through. I don’t think I could have made it through this camp without them.

In retrospect, I never imagined how much of an impact leading a Tzu Chi summer camp can have on me in terms of changing my mindset and how I will go forward in life. I learned how to trust my team, to listen to them, and to accommodate them. I also witnessed the importance of trust and collaborative work. An individual alone cannot accomplish a great task. As Master Cheng Yen says, “A truly successful person is accepted by everyone and accepts everyone.” If I did not learn to trust my team, I might not have been able to reach all my goals and accomplish this great project!

Student Attendees crying their hearts out as they hug their “Big Brother” Bryan at Closing Ceremony

Given the chance to go back in time, I would not change any of what has happened. I was able to grow as a result of the incidents that took place during this camp. I had never known before that developing curriculum could take so much time and energy, but now I understand the hard work of Tzu Chi volunteers, who dedicate themselves to pass on Tzu Chi’s humanistic culture. I hope that I can apply the experiences I have gained from this past month to help pave the Tzu Chi path, so that it will be smoother and easier for others to join us!

2015 慈濟暑期加州遊學營

2015年美國遊學營現在終於告了段落。回想到第一天晚上學生到達宿舍前,我那不安和緊張的心情到現在都還記憶猶新。一邊想著要怎麼去好好認識這四十三位不同的學生,一邊想著要怎麼去帶領他們走過這一個月來的行程並且讓大家都開開心心的過。學生走進來那當下,從他們那青澀的面孔,可以看得出來他們對美國所趕到的陌生以及不安。我頓時覺悟,決定要幫他們把美國當成自己家一樣的生活著。這一個月來,我花了許多心思去照顧和帶領學生們、規劃課務活動以及行程。一開始與許多學生都不太熟,到最後,光聽到腳步聲或說話的聲音就可以辨認出是哪一位學員。光陰似箭,時間很快就過去了,一個月以來,我也體驗到許多的挫折。但是從這些挫折中,我並不後悔我所犯過的那些錯。畢竟我能有機會能夠從自己的失誤中學習。跟著Katie、Edith和Kathy共事也讓我學習到了許多。以我而言,我在學校早已經習慣了自己扛組別的責任,但是在這營隊,如果沒有他們三個來分擔,我的身體和精神可能早就已經癱瘓了。我們四個也都有不同的專業,從他們身上,我也學習到了不同專業的人們如何彼此配合、互相幫忙以及協助。我甚至還得到了一些我一般是沒有機會去學習的知識以及經驗。這種種的經驗下來,我相信會對我將來的人生有很大的改變和幫助。我從中學習到如何去相信我的團隊、去聆聽、去配合以及見識到了團隊合作、信任的重要性。一個人是無法成大事的,像師公上人所說:「一個真正成功的人,必須人人都能容得下你,你也能容納每一個人。」如果沒有去相信自己的團隊,我不知何時才能達到自己的目標和成就大事。如果有機會,我除了會希望自己在這個營隊中能做得更好之外,我不會想要去改變任何事實。畢竟我能夠有所成長,都是要感謝這個營隊中所發生的事和所帶來的經驗。一開始沒想到課務組會如此繁忙,如今也體會了慈濟人為了傳承和發揚慈濟人文的辛勞。我也希望我將來能夠為慈濟多發一份心,用這個月來的經驗去將未來在慈濟的路鋪的平坦一點、順利一點。

One thought on “#UCSDTCCA Summer Journey – Bryan Yang

Leave a Reply

